Forum Mod Bakery Docs

How To start?

Posted in Support
Please login to contribute to the conversation.
Recently I found this community and as a studying game developer I wondered how I would even start with creating mods, or character models. simply through looking through the game's files I saw they used as file type called "P3D" and i would like some guidence on how to edit this file type and how to get started with creating some new models for simpsons hit and run.

EDIT : by the way, I am used to working with : Maya, 3DS max and blender if I have too

-The_Bru_Pod
Hey there, I don't have a lot of time to respond right now but I'll try to point you in the right direction.

Pure3D files or simply P3D files are files that contain art assets and various data types that are used by the game's compiled code and loaded/referenced by plain text scripts (MFK files).

You can poke around in them and modify the vast majority of chunk types this game has using Lucas' Pure3D Editor 4.

If you have any more specific questions, feel free to elaborate on this thread.
is there a way i can use maya to make custom models instead of blender?
Edit: Ah i see all i need to do is asign vertex groups in blender so i can export it as a xml, so can i use maya to model and then import that into blender to assign the vertex groups?
Edit2: i noticed that the models are made up of tris, does that mean i should avoid using quads in the models?
Edit3: Also, what is my budget, does the game have any limitations how how many tris it can have, or a limitation on the resolution of the textures?
Right now we only have plugins for exporting our custom XML format from Blender. This plugin is written in plaintext python scripts though so someone else could port it to Maya if they tried.